National Curriculum Certification Courses

CAMLS offers a myriad of nationally recognized courses and courses developed at CAMLS through the USF Health Continuing Professional Development department housed at CAMLS. Courses are offered throughout the year. Courses are geared toward a wide variety of specialties and are for doctors, nurses, and other healthcare professionals. Review the list of courses offered and click each course title to read a description of what the course offers.

ASSET (Advanced Surgical Skills in Exposure in Trauma)
The ASSET course uses human cadavers to teach surgical exposure of anatomic structures that, when injured, may pose a threat to life or limb. Key areas of exposure are neck, chest, abdomen and pelvis, and upper and lower extremities.
ATCN (Advanced Trauma Care for Nurses)
The ATCN course is an advanced course designed for the registered nurse interested in increasing his/her knowledge in management of the multiple trauma patient. The ATCN course is taught concurrently with ATLS.
ATLS (Advanced Trauma Life Support Certification and Recertification)
The ATLS® program provides a systematic, concise approach to the care of a trauma patient. Participants learn how to assess a patient’s condition, resuscitate and stabilize the patient, and determine if the patient’s needs exceed a facility’s capacity.
ATOM (Advanced Trauma Operative Management)
The ATOM® course is an effective method of increasing surgical competence and confidence in the operative management of penetrating injuries to the chest and abdomen.
FCCS (Fundamental Critical Care Support)
The Society of Critical Care Medicine’s (SCCM) internationally renowned two-day FCCS course is the go-to resource for training non-intensivist house staff, residents, pharmacists, nurses, or other critical care practitioners how to recognize patient status deterioration and manage critically ill and injured patients effectively.
Fundamentals of Endoscopic Surgery (FES) Testing
FES Testing is useful in assessing whether or not a practicing surgeon possesses the basic knowledge and skills fundamental to the performance of gastrointestinal endoscopic surgery. Click here to learn more.
Fundamentals of Laparoscopic Surgery (FLS) Testing
FLS Testing measures cognitive knowledge, case/problem management skills and manual dexterity. The FLS program content has been endorsed by the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and is a joint educational offering of SAGES and ACS. FLS is also CME accredited. Click here to learn more.
NRP (Neonatal Resuscitation Program)
NRP is an educational program in collaboration with the American Heart Association (AHA). The course has been designed to teach an evidence-based approach to resuscitation of the newborn to hospital staff who care for newborns at the time of delivery. The training is based on simulation methodology, enhancing development of critical leadership, communication and team work skills.
PALS (Pediatric Advanced Life Support Certification and Recertification)
PALS is a classroom, video-based, instructor-led course that uses a series of simulated pediatric emergencies to reinforce the important concepts of a systematic approach to pediatric assessment, basic life support, PALS treatment algorithms, effective resuscitation and team dynamics.
PFCCS (Pediatric Fundamental Critical Care Support)
PFCCS prepares non-intensivists, nurses, and critical care practitioners to deal with acute deterioration of critically ill pediatric patients. The course also assists the non-intensivist in handling the sudden decline of a previously stable patient and prepares house staff for pediatric intensive care unit coverage. Click here to learn more.